Five Tickets to “The Good Life”

A few quick thoughts on my lunch break. The sun is shining on the screened-in porch where my husband is studying at the table next to me, the birds are calling to each other from the greenery surrounding us, and baby Felicity is on a walk with her Grammy Thompson. This sweet scenario has me thinking about quality of life and blessings that bring me delight. On a whim, these are five lifestyle amenities I hope to have in the years to come:

  1. A screened in porch or sunroom in my home… large large windows if nothing else.
  2. Weekly visits to water (at least). I’ll take river, stream, ocean, lake, creek, hot tub or pool. Just gimme.
  3. Daily meditation practice. I’ve begun using Insight Timer for guided meditations designed to invite sleep at night, but I’d like the practice to be more regular and varied in purpose.
  4. My own herb garden. The glass of fresh mint tea Grammy Thompson made us this morning inspires.
  5. Laughter abundant. I want to be known as someone who laughs much and laughs easily. Bring on the wonder, the hilarity, the absurd. Let’s go crazy, friends!

 

UPDATE ONE YEAR LATER…

I now have a giant porch with a dining set, recliners, a playhouse for Felicity, and lots of chalk.

 

I now have a giant pool, hot tub, and fountain at our apartment complex.

 

I now meditate at least once a day, using Theta/Reiki/Chakras/Prayer/LectioDivina and other techniques.

 

I have rosemary and oregano abundant and vines of cherry tomatoes covering my side porch.

 

I now hang out with Felicity all day, which means LOTS of laughter.

 

So… well… I guess naming what we long for can make the appreciating it come easier. Look at all I have been blessed with! Experiences and environments so dear to my heart. How wonderful!

Leave a comment